This is another recipe from Everyday Paleo. I think it will be the last one I review here, because it’s overdue at the library.

2 lbs beef, cut into pieces
1/2 head red cabbage, chopped
1 TBLS red curry paste, or to taste
2 sweet potatoes, cut into 1 inch cubes
1 can coconut milk
1/4 cup chicken stock

The book calls for this to be cooked in a crock pot, but I made it twice on the stove. I found it needed more than 1 TBLS of curry paste, but I’ve also noticed (as have others on Amazon) that Thai Kitchen’s curry pastes don’t seem to be nearly as strong as they used to be.

The first time, I made it without the cabbage. The second time, I made it without the chicken stock. Neither one seemed to change the flavor, from what I could tell. So, use both for extra nutrition, but if you don’t have either, it won’t matter much. This would be an easy recipe to sneak extra vegetables in, such as zucchini or yellow squash.

I never would’ve thought to mix sweet potatoes and beef, but it was a good combination. This is better than almost every meat and potato stew I’ve ever had.

Ease of Preparation: 4
Taste: 4.5

Leave a Reply

